Miller Coulson Academy Inducts New Members

This fall, the Miller Coulson Academy of Clinical Excellence (MCACE) at Johns Hopkins inducted seven new clinicians — doctors who are the “best of the best” when it comes to providing patient care. And for the first time in the academy’s history, all of the new inductees are woman.

“It seems particularly fitting that 130 years after visionary philanthropist Mary Elizabeth Garrett provided much of the endowment to launch the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine with the proviso that the school admit women on an equal basis with men, 100% of the MCACE inductees are women,” observes CIM Director David Hellmann. “I’m sure that somewhere, Mary Elizabeth Garrett is smiling.”

The new class of academy members joins 90-plus clinician members, from departments across The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, who are all committed to establishing initiatives and programs to advance excellence in clinical care.

The 2022 Miller Coulson Academy inductees are:

Josephine Feliciano

Thuy Ngo
Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Elizabeth Reynolds
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Jamie Schwartz
Anesthesiology and Pediatric Critical Care Medicine

Joanne Shay
Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Karen Swartz
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Karen Wang
Gynecology and Obstetrics